Style reads, planning my fall gets and more …

Leopard sneaks

 

Today I got a chance to put my feet up and catch up on my fashion reading — you know, blogs, trolling Tumbler and Instagram and this lovely pile of fall mags …

My pile of fashion magazines for Fall 2014
My pile of fashion magazines for Fall 2014

 

I usually go through the magazines and tag articles and shoots for there trends I want and then make a list of the items in my closet that are still on trend. For instance, the year-round bootie; I think I got that covered …

My Booties fall 2014

 

I’m pretty set on most of this season’s necessaries now that I nabbed a cute easy to walk in pair animal print, bare sandal …

 

Jeffrey Campbell pony ankle straps, $30 on sale at Anthropologie, Irvine Spectrum
Jeffrey Campbell pony ankle straps, $30 on sale at Anthropologie, Irvine Spectrum

and a bright California weather appropriate 60’s-vibin’ statement coat with 3/4 length sleeves …

Zara funnel coat with three-quarter length sleeves, $30 on sale.
Zara funnel coat with three-quarter length sleeves, $30 on sale.

Now I just need some knits, pieces in gray and green and a backpack!

More worthy reading

Racked had a great interview with the New York Times’ new style critic, Vanessa Friedman today. Friedman is taking over from the estimable Cathy Horyn beginning next week with the beginning of New York Fashion Week. 

Friedman, most recently of The Financial Times,  has excellent credentials for the job including a true journalistic/critical approach so necessary in a world of gushing bloggers and sponsored websites.

After all, fashion is an art every bit as relevant to our culture as architecture, music, fine art or literature and, as with all art forms, it deserves a critical class that can frame it within the context of our times as well as point out when it fails.

Read the entire interview here.

Orange Coast Sept.2014

And finally, a little plug for me! Check out September’s issue of Orange Coast magazine for my interview with Laguna Beach jewelry designer Nan Fusco.

 

Leave a comment